Criminology GettyImages-978685456.jpg

Membership and Members

CIRN Membership

Membership criteria

  • Researcher Members: Those who have carried out and/or published research on criminal investigations.
  • Practitioner Members: Those who have (or have had) practical experience of involvement in crime investigation, who are dedicated to advancing the field and who are actively supportive of scholarship in this area.
  • Policy Makers: Those who have (or have had) a role in the formulation of crime investigation policy.


Director

Professor Fiona Brookman
Professor of Criminology
University of South Wales
Email: fiona.brookman@southwales.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 144 348 2572


Co-Director

Professor Edward Maguire
Professor of Criminology & Criminal Justice
Arizona State University
Email: edmaguire@asu.edu

CIRN Executive

Professor Martin Innes
Director of Crime and Security Research Institute
School of Social Sciences, Cardiff University
Email: InnesM@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 292 087 5307

Professor Mike Maguire
Professor in Criminology
University of South Wales
Email: mike.maguire@southwales.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 144 348 2310

CIRN Members

Dr Rafael Alcadipani
Associate Professor of Organisational Studies, São Paulo School of Management of Getulio Vargas Foundation (EAESP-FGV), Brazil
Telephone: + 5511 3799 7740
Email: Rafael.Alcadipani@fgv.br


Dr Clare Allely
Lecturer in Psychology and affiliate member of the Gillberg Neuropsychiatry Centre, Gothenburg University
University of Salford 
Email: c.s.allely@salford.ac.uk


Dr Cheryl Allsop
Centre for Criminology
University of South Wales
Email: cheryl.allsop@southwales.ac.uk


Laura Baynton
Safeguarding Unit
Home Office
Email: Laura.Baynton@homeoffice.gov.uk 


Dianne Beer-Maxwell
Manager of Strategic Partnerships 
The Pretrial Justice Institute
Gaithersburg, Washington DC
Email: dianne@pretrial.org


Professor Richard R. Bennett
Department of Justice, Law & Society
American University, Washington DC
Email: bennett@american.edu


Professor Rod Broadhurst
Chief Investigator, ARC Centre of Excellence in Policing & Security
Australian National University
Email: Roderic.Broadhurst@anu.edu.au


Chief Superintendent Sally Burke
Divisional Commander 
South Wales Police
Email: Sally.Burke@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

Dean Dabney
Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology 
Georgia State University 
Email: ddabney@gsu.edu

Professor Jim Fraser
University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
Email: jim.fraser@forensis.org.uk

Dr F. Jeane Gerard
Research Associate
Research Centre in Psychology, Behaviour and Achievement
Coventry University
Email: ab7991@coventry.ac.uk

Francis Christopher Hall CPP, PCI
Private Investigator
Daly City, California
Email: fhallpi@gmail.com

Dr Peter Hall
Senior Lecturer, Forensic & Investigative Studies
Coventry University
Email: aa3999@coventry.ac.uk


Dr Charlotte Harris
British Society of Criminology Executive Director
Email: charlotte.harris@britsoccrim.org

Professor Eric W. Hickey
Dean, California School of Forensic Studies

Alliant International University, California
Email: ehickey@alliant.edu

Joseph R. Hoffman
Director of Training at the Burroughs Group/Consultant and Expert Witness
Washington D.C., USA


Dr Richard Hough
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of West Florida
Email: rhough@uwf.edu

Paul Hurley QPM
Managing Director 
TIER Consultants ltd.
Email: Paul@tierconsultants.co.uk

Dean Jones
Senior Forensic Pathology Manager
Forensic Pathology Unit 
Regulatory and Strategic Support
Home Office Science
Email: Dean.Jones2@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk

Dr Helen Jones
Research Fellow 
Department of Criminology
University of South Wales 
Email: helen.jones11@southwales.ac.uk


Dr Imogen Jones
Associate Professor in Law
University of Leeds
Email: i.jones2@leeds.ac.uk


Detective Superintendent Nev Kemp
Sussex Police Commander for the City of Brighton and Hove, Sussex Police
Email: Neville.Kemp@sussex.pnn.police.uk

Paul Kemp
Regional SIO Adviser (West), Crime Operational Support 
National Policing Improvement Agency
Email: paul.kemp@nca.pnn.police.uk


Williams R.King, PhD
Professor, Department of Criminal Justice
Boise State University
Boise, Idaho
E-mail: billking@boisestate.edu


Dr Peter Klerks
Strategic Advisor to the Board of Procurators General in The Hague
Email: p.klerks@xs4all.nl

Dr. Christopher Lawless
Associate Professor
Durham University
Email: c.j.lawless@durham.ac.uk


Phil Lee
Award Leader
Policing and Criminal Investigation Studies
Staffordshire University
Email: p.lee@staffs.ac.uk


Chief Superintendent Dorian Lloyd
Head of Professional Standards 
South Wales Police
Email: Dorian.Lloyd@south-wales.pnn.police.uk


Martyn Lloyd-Evans 
Independent Review Consultant
Email: mlloydevans@hotmail.co.uk


Marni Manning
PhD Candidate 
Tony Fitzgerald Scholarship recipient
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Griffith University
Queensland, Australia.
Email: marni.manning@griffith.edu.au


DCI Julie MacKay
Detective Chief Inspector
Criminal Standards, Gloucestershire Constabulary
Email: Julie.MacKay@gloucestershire.pnn.police.uk


Professor Kimberly D. McCorkle
Professor and Chair, Department of Legal Studies, Public Administration, and Sport Management
University of West Florida
Email: kmccorkle@uwf.edu

CIRN Members

Duncan McGarry MBE
National Police Family Liaison Advisor, Specialist Crime Operational Support
National Policing Improvement Agency
Email: Duncan.mcgarry@npia.pnn.police.uk

Professor Barry Mitchell
Professor of Criminal Law & Criminal Justice
Coventry University
Email: aa9112@coventry.ac.uk


Captain G. Nichols Jr.
Deputy Chief, Prince George’s County Police Department
Upper Malboro, Maryland 
Email: GANichols@co.pg.md.us


Dr Martin O'Neill
Senior Lecturer
Criminal Investigation
Canterbury Christchurch University
Email: martin.oneill@canterbury.ac.uk


Detective Chief Inspector John Oldham
Metropolitan Police Service
Email: John.C.Oldham@met.police.uk


Professor Ken Pease
Visiting Professor, Loughborough University, UCL, University of Manchester
Email: kenpease@ntlworld.com

DCI Chris Persurich
Detective Chief Inspector
Criminal Investigation Department, Carabinieri Milano
2^ Section, Homicide Unit
Email: christian.persurich@carabinieri.it

Dr Sophie Pike
Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Bath Spa University
E-mail:  S.Pike@bathspa.ac.uk


Juliet Prince
Lecturer
Policing and Criminal Investigation Studies
Staffordshire University
Email: Juliet.Prince@staffs.ac.uk


Detective Chief Inspector Colin Richards 
Policing Consultant at Bluelight Space Ltd, UK

Detective Sergeant David Steven Roberts 
Investigative Training Unit 
Learning Development Services 
South Wales Police 
Email: David.Roberts@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

Assistant Chief Constable Louisa Rolfe
Avon & Somerset Police
Email: louisa.Rolfe@avonandsomerset.police.uk

Malcolm Ross
Crime Investigation, Crisis Management & Training Consultant
Email: mross.berrycottage@btinternet.com

Chief Inspector Mark Scoular
Police Military Liaison Officer
Office of the National Coordinator – Protect and Prepare 
Email: mark.scoular@acpo.pnn.police.uk

Gerard Snel
EMTP Programme Manager 
Police Academy of the Netherlands
Email: Gerard.Snel@politieacademie.nl

Dr Peter Stelfox
Major Crime Investigation Consultant
Editor of ACPO Homicide Working Group Journal of Homicide and Major Incident Investigation
Email: peter.stelfox@fsmail.net

Dr Joakim Sturup
Swedish National Board of Forensic Medicine
Email: Joakim.Sturup@rmv.se


Dr. Gillian Tully
Forensic Science Regulator
Email: gillian.tully@forensicscienceregulator.gov.uk


Interim Chief of Police H. Velez
Bureau of Investigation
Prince George’s County Police Department
Email: hvelez@co.pg.md.us


Chief Superintendent Ian Waterfield
Nottinghamshire Police
Chair of the Professional Development Committee of the National Homicide Working Group
Email: ian.waterfield@nottinghamshire.pnn.police.uk

Professor Charles Wellford
Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Maryland
Email: wellford@umd.edu

William Wells, Ph.D.
Associate Professor & Director of Research
Law Enforcement Management Institute of Texas
Sam Houston State University
Email: WMW005@SHSU.EDU

Dr. Louise Westmarland
Senior Lecturer in Criminology & Social Policy, Open University
Email: l.westmarland@open.ac.uk

Dr. Dana Wilson-Kovacs
Senior Lecturer in Sociology
Department of Sociology, Philosophy and Anthropology
University of Exeter
E-mail: M.D.Wilson-Kovacs@exeter.ac.uk


Jan-Martin Winter
Investigative Psychologist
Dutch National Police
Central Unit, DSO
E-mail: jan.winter@politie.nl


Dan Winterich, J. D.
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Lakeland Community College
Email: dwinterich2@lakelandcc.edu


Dr. Christina Witt
Detective, Homicide Unit
Calgary Police Service
Email: pol3394@calgarypolice.ca


Dr. Penny S. Woolnough
Senior Lecturer in Forensic Psychology
Associate Director Scottish Institute for Policing Research, Division of Psychology & Forensic Science, School of Applied Science, Abertay University, Dundee
Email: p.woolnough@abertay.ac.uk


Dr. Michelle Wright
Senior Lecturer in Forensic Psychology
Manchester Metropolitan University
Email: m.wright@mmu.ac.uk

David Wyatt 
Research Fellow in Social Science
King's College London
Email: david.wyatt@kcl.ac.uk


Dr. Debbie Zeraschi
Temporary Detective Inspector
Head of Major Crime Review Unit
South Wales Police
E-mail: debbie.zeraschi@south-wales.pnn.police.uk